• Top Rated

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9 other followers

Why I Slowed Down on Drinking


Many years ago I worked for a place that had their company Christmas Party (back when we were allowed to say “Christmas”) in the city. It was at a 3-level club that was huge. The company provided buses to and from the job, and you were on your own to get back home from there.

I must have been 19 or 20, but was still grabbing drinks at the open bar. And boy did I pound it. I remember a few select things. Getting off the bus. Walking the dance floors with a drink always in hand. And then I remember an older woman making me catch the last bus back to work late at night.

I had NO IDEA how to get back home from there. I was at an utter loss. In reality it’s just a train ride back to my house at the time. But instead I walked the streets looking for a cab drunk out of my mind. One took me home after people helped me hail a cab, and we couldn’t figure out where the heck I lived. Luckily my driver’s license told us, and I got home but with no money. So I went into the house, and I think I gave the taxi driver my entire paycheck which I cashed earlier. The next morning I had no money.

What the hell.

2 Responses

  1. Hahaha! At first I thought it was going to be a story from our old job, but def not! Too funny Brown Man!

Leave a Reply

